Agnes Scott's David Thompson Receives SETC's Highest Honor

January 22, 2014

David Thompson, Anna Louise Waterman Professor of Theatre and Chair of the Theatre program at Agnes Scott College, received the Southeastern Theatre Conference's coveted Suzanne Davis Award at the organization's 65th annual convention in Mobile Alabama.  Thompson began his career in SETC more than 25 years ago as the Tennessee State Representative to the Board of Directors.  He has since served in numerous positions with the organization including President and Administrative Vice President.  He is currently the Chair of the By-laws committe.


The Suzanne M. Davis Memorial Award was established to honor one SETC member each year for distinguished service to SETC over a number of years and is presented during the SETC Annual Convention awards banquet. Davis was the wife of Harry Davis, one of the SETC founders, who served as the organization's ninth president.  Davis was also the original director of Unto These Hills. Suzanne was the production's first costume designer and was the first to suggest that there should be an annual award to a person for outstanding service to



SETC. When Suzanne died, Alvin Cohen endowed that award in her memory. (Photo:  SETC President Jack Benjamin presents Agness Scott College professor David Thompson with the Suzanne Davis Award at the 65th annual convention in Mobile, Alabama.  Courtesy of SETC:

Please reload

Featured Posts

GTC Mourns Passing of Past President

August 13, 2016

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2023 by Georgia Theatre Conference. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
  • RSS Classic