Brenda May Ito honored with Sarah Spencer Award

January 23, 2014


Columbus State University Professor Brenda May Ito (pictured with SETC Theatre For Youth Division Chair Jeremy Kisling)  was recognized with the Sarah Spencer Award at the 65th annual convention of the Southeastern Theatre Conference.  Brenda is CSU's Program Director for the MEd in Theatre and the BS in Education Theatre degree as well as the Program Director for Theatre for Youth. She received her MFA in Theatre (concentration Theatre for Youth) at University of North Carolina-Greensboro, her MA in Theatre at Missouri State University, and her BS in Education Dance degree from Missouri State University. She was selected in  2010 as one of the Woodruff Arts Center’s Georgia Arts in Education Leaders. Brenda is in her 18th year at Columbus State University.


The Sarah Spencer Child Drama Award recognizes the work of an individual or organization for dynamic and engaging work for young people. Nominees can excel in such areas as playwriting, performance, audience development, curriculum development, funding, scholarship, community programs, research, television programming, creative drama or other enrichment programs within their community, state, regional or national level. (Press release and photo courtesy of SETC:

Please reload

Featured Posts

GTC Mourns Passing of Past President

August 13, 2016

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2023 by Georgia Theatre Conference. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
  • RSS Classic
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now